

**Oncology Issues** 



ISSN: 1046-3356 (Print) 2573-1777 (Online) Journal homepage: https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/uacc20

# ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs

To cite this article: (1994) ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs, Oncology Issues, 9:3, 24-24, DOI: 10.1080/10463356.1994.11904474

To link to this article: https://doi.org/10.1080/10463356.1994.11904474

وللطله

Published online: 18 Oct 2017.

	_
- 1	
	- CT.

Submit your article to this journal 🗹

Article views: 1



View related articles 🕑

# **ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs**

### ACCC ELECTION RETURNS

The results of a membership vote for ACCC officers, trustees, and members of the nominating committee were announced at the recent House of Delegates Business meeting.

President-Elect (one-year term) Diane Van Ostenberg, B.S., R.N.

Secretary (two-year term) James L. Wade III, M.D.

Trustees (two-year terms) Dale E. Fuller, M.D. Gordon R. Klatt, M.D. Michael E. Mohnsen, M.H.A. Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A. Joyce G. Stair, M.S., B.S.N.

Members of the Nominating Committee for 1994-95 Paul N. Anderson, M.D. Robert T. Clarke, M.H.A. Jennifer L. Guy, B.S., R.N. David K. King, M.D. Diane M. Otte, R.N., M.S.

New Committee Chairs Carl G. Kardinal, M.D., ACCC President, announced the new Committee chair people for the 1994-95 year.

#### **Bylaws**

Joyce G. Stair, M.S., B.S.N.

Governmental Affairs James L. Wade III, M.D.

Membership H. Irving Pierce, M.D.

**Program** David H. Regan, M.D.

Strategic Planning Diane Van Ostenberg, B.S., R.N.

Ad Hoc Committee for Reimbursement David K. King, M.D.

Ad Hoc Committee for Standards Patti A. Jamieson, M.S.S.W., M.B.A.

Collaborative Research Group Steering Committee Albert B. Einstein, Jr., M.D.

In addition to Dr. Kardinal, Nancy A. Nowak, M.A.; Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A.; and Diane Van Ostenberg, B.S., R.N., will serve as ACCC representatives an ACCC and Oncology Nursing Society joint planning group.

Special Interest Group (SIG) Chair people for 1994-95 were also announced. Administrator: Michael A. Mohnsen, M.H.A.; CCOP: Carl G. Kardinal, M.D.; Medical Director: Gordon R. Klatt, M.D.; Nursing: Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A.; Radiation Oncology: R. Lawrence White, M.D.

David K. King, M.D., will serve as ACCC's liaison representative to the American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer, and Robert W. Frelick, M.D., will serve as representative to the National Cancer Advisory Board.

### **BYLAWS AMENDMENTS**

Bylaws amendments were approved by the Delegates at their annual business meeting in March. Changes to the bylaws as a result of the vote include clarification of the wording related to voting privileges and right to hold office for chapter members; conversion of the appointed Trustee position for the Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI) to an elected position, and elimination of the minimum membership requirement for chapters. In addition, the membership voted to set annual dues for chapters at \$1,000.

The approval of bylaws amendments by the membership created a vacant trustee position for a oneyear, unexpired term previously



## CALIFORNIA, HERE WE COME

Join us for ACCC's 11th National Oncology Economics Conference: Selecting Successful Survival Strategies. This four-day meeting will be held in Newport Beach, Calif., at the Four Seasons Hotel on September 28–October 1, 1994.

The emerging threats to multidisciplinary care, guidelines and critical paths; pricing your products; picking your partners; and future models for oncology delivery are among the many timely topics to be presented by renowned experts in cancer care. Speakers will also address health care reform issues; legal implications with cancer program alliances; APGs; and oncology carve-outs.

Look for details in the July/August Oncology Issues.

held by the AACI. The bylaws, instruct the Board to fill any vacancy for the unexpired term.

A special Board meeting was called immediately following the House of Delegates business meeting for the purpose of filling the vacant trustee position. Three individuals were nominated. David H. Regan, M.D., was elected to a one-year term as trustee.

**ACCC Immediate Past President** Albert B. Einstein, Jr., M.D., (right) presents Congressman Sander M. Levin with the National Achievement Award for Outstanding Contributions to Cancer Care. The Congressman from Michigan and Senator John D. Rockefeller IV of West Virginia were honored at the Award Luncheon held during ACCC's Annual National Meeting. Both Congressman Levin and Senator Rockefeller worked to obtain enactment of the Rockefeller-Levin bill, which requires Medicare reimbursement for off-label use of drugs for cancer treatment.