

Oncology Issues



ISSN: 1046-3356 (Print) 2573-1777 (Online) Journal homepage: https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/uacc20

ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs

To cite this article: (1997) ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs, Oncology Issues, 12:3, 44-44, DOI: 10.1080/10463356.1997.11904689

To link to this article: https://doi.org/10.1080/10463356.1997.11904689

	Published online: 18 Oct 2017.
Ø,	Submit your article to this journal 🗗
ılıl	Article views: 2
a ^L	View related articles 🗷

ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs

ACCC'S ELECTION SCORECARD

The results of a membership vote for ACCC officers, trustees, and members of the nominating committee were announced at the recent House of Delegates Business meeting held at ACCC's 23rd Annual National Meeting.

President-Elect (one-year term) R. Lawrence White, M.D.

Treasurer (two-year term)
Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N.,
C.N.A.A.

Trustees (two-year terms)
Robert J. Brooks, M.D.
Cary A. Presant, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Charles H. Nash III, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Teresa D. Smith, R.N., M.S.N.
James R. Zabora, M.S.W.

Members of the Nominating Committee for 1997-98 Albert B. Einstein, Jr., M.D. Irvin D. Fleming, M.D. Jennifer L. Guy, B.S., R.N. Carl G. Kardinal, M.D. David H. Regan, M.D.

NEW COMMITTEE CHAIRS

ACCC President James L. Wade III, M.D., announced the new Committee chairpeople for 1997-98.

Bylaws Joyce G. Stair, M.S., B.S.N.

Governmental Affairs Edward L. Braud, M.D.

Membership David H. Regan, M.D.

Program Cary A. Presant, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Strategic Planning R. Lawrence White, M.D.

Ad Hoc Committee for Advocacy James R. Zabora, M.S.W. Ad Hoc Committee for Reimbursement David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Ad Hoc Committee for Standards Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A.

Collaborative Research Group Steering Committee John E. Feldmann, M.D.

Special Interest Group (SIG)
Chairs for 1997-98 were also
announced. Administrator: Teresa
D. Smith, R.N., M.S.N.; Community Research/CCOP: Carl G.
Kardinal, M.D.; Medical Director:
Charles H. Nash III, M.D.,
F.A.C.P.; Nursing: Diane M. Otte,
R.N., M.S., O.C.N.; Radiation
Oncology: Edward Elliott, M.D.

David K. King, M.D., will continue to serve as ACCC's liaison representative to the American

College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer, and Robert W. Frelick, M.D., will serve as representative to the National Cancer Advisory Board.

WELCOME ABOARD

Applications for active ACCC membership for five institutions were approved by the ACCC Board of Trustees. Congratulations to:

- Albany Medical Center, The Cancer Center of Albany Medical Center, Albany, N.Y.
- Cornerstone Cancer Center, Palm Harbor, Fla.
- Kern Medical Center, Kern Regional Oncology Center, Bakersfield, Calif.
- The Medical Center of Princeton, The Medical Center at Princeton Cancer Program, Princeton, N.J.
- Virginia Beach General Hospital, Coastal Cancer Center, Virginia Beach, Va. ■

Diane Van Ostenberg, B.S., R.N., immediate-past president of the Association of Community Cancer Centers, was honored in a special award ceremony in Washington, D.C., at ACCC's 23rd Annual National Meeting on March 19, 1997. Accepting the award was Jane Van Ostenberg, Diane's daughter, shown here with ACCC President John E. Feldmann, M.D.

Diane Van Ostenberg led a crusade—both professional and personal—in the fight against cancer. As ACCC president, she led efforts to introduce patient advocacy as a top priority for the Association. Her own struggle with lung cancer ended on Tuesday, November 26, 1996.

Ms. Van Ostenberg was honored with the Edward L. Moorhead Award in recognition of her



significant contributions to patient advocacy and to improving cancer treatment in the community. The award is named after Edward L. Moorhead III, M.D., a pioneering ACCC leader who championed the involvement of community oncologists in clinical trials.