







# ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs

To cite this article: (1998) ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs, Oncology Issues, 13:3, 44-44, DOI: 10.1080/10463356.1998.11904755

To link to this article: https://doi.org/10.1080/10463356.1998.11904755

| 4 | 1 | ſ | L |
|---|---|---|---|
|   |   |   |   |
|   |   |   |   |
|   |   |   |   |

Published online: 18 Oct 2017.

| 1 |    |
|---|----|
| н |    |
|   | 21 |
|   |    |

Submit your article to this journal 🗹

Article views: 2



View related articles 🕑

# **ACCC's New Officers, Trustees, and Chairs**

# ACCC's ELECTION SCORECARD

The results of a membership vote for ACCC officers, trustees, and members of the nominating committee were announced at the recent House of Delegates Business meeting, held at ACCC's 24th Annual National Meeting.

President-Elect (one-year term) Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A.

Secretary (two-year term) Teresa D. Smith, R.N., M.S.N.

### Treasurer (one-year term, unexpired) David H. Regan, M.D.

## Trustees (two-year terms)

Edward L. Braud, M.D. Susan J. Brown-Wagner, R.N., M.S.N., C.R.N.P., A.O.C.N. Edward C. Elliott, M.D. Teri U. Guidi, M.B.A. Joseph D. Halperin, M.D. Diane M. Otte, R.N., M.S., O.C.N.

#### Members of the Nominating

Committee for 1998-99 Joy G. Stair, M.S., B.S.N., Chair David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P. John E. Feldmann, M.D., F.A.C.P. Carl G. Kardinal, M.D. Robert T. Clarke, M.H.A.

# New Committee Chairs

ACCC President Robert L. White, M.D., F.A.C.R., announced the Committee chairpeople for 1998-99.

## **Bylaws**

E. Strode Weaver, M.H.S.A., M.B.A.

Governmental Affairs Edward L. Braud, M.D.

### Membership James C. Chingos, M.D.

Program Cary A. Presant, M.D., F.A.C.P. Strategic Planning Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A.

Ad Hoc Committee for Advocacy James R. Zabora, M.S.W., Sc.D.

Ad Hoc Committee for Clinical Research Award Selection James L. Wade III, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Ad Hoc Committee for Reimbursement David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Ad Hoc Committee for Standards Susan J. Brown-Wagner, R.N., M.S.N., C.R.N.P., A.O.C.N.

Collaborative Research Group Steering Committee John E. Feldmann, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Special Interest Group (SIG) Chairs for 1998-99 were also announced. Administrator: Teri U. Guidi, M.B.A.; Community Research/CCOP: Carl G. Kardinal, M.D., and Lawrence S. Lessin, M.D., co-chairs; Medical Director. Charles H. Nash III. M.D., F.A.C.P.; Nursing: Diane M. Otte, R.N., M.S., O.C.N.; Radiation Oncology: Edward C. Elliott, M.D. David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P., will continue to serve as ACCC's liaison representative to the American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer, and Robert W. Frelick, M.D., will serve as representative to the National Cancer Advisory Board.

During the House of Delegates meeting, the ACCC membership voted to set annual dues for Sustaining Membership at \$5,000. The ACCC Board of Trustees, acting on a recommendation from the ACCC Membership Committee, called for a vote to establish dues that more accurately reflect the intent of the Sustaining Membership category, which is defined by the Bylaws as "providing support...to the Association."

## PAIN MANAGEMENT EDUCATION RESULTS

ACCC's Ad Hoc Committee for Advocacy and staff have worked closely with the City of Hope National Medical Center to make City of Hope's NCI-sponsored cancer pain management provider education program available to individuals from ACCC member institutions. Information regarding this highly regarded program was sent to the cancer program administrator of each ACCC institutional member this past November as a benefit of membership.

Ninety-two applications were received by City of Hope and fiftyeight were accepted to the program held February 19-21, 1998. Eighteen of the twenty-seven applications received from ACCC members were accepted. Participants were presented with comprehensive instruction regarding the improvement of clinical practice in cancer pain management. After completion of this course, participants are required to facilitate the integration of pain management information into their clinical setting.

## SPECIAL THANKS

ACCC extends a special note of thanks to:

- ALZA Pharmaceuticals
- American Red Cross
- Bristol-Myers Squibb Oncology
- Eli Lilly and Company
- Genentech BioOncology
- Genetics Institute, Inc.
- Ortho Biotech Inc.
- Zeneca Pharmaceuticals

for sponsorship of program sessions and social events at the Association of Community Cancer Centers' 24<sup>th</sup> Annual National Meeting.