

Oncology Issues



ISSN: 1046-3356 (Print) 2573-1777 (Online) Journal homepage: https://www.tandfonline.com/loi/uacc20

ACCC's Election Scorecard

To cite this article: (1999) ACCC's Election Scorecard, Oncology Issues, 14:3, 38-39, DOI: 10.1080/10463356.1999.11904834

To link to this article: https://doi.org/10.1080/10463356.1999.11904834

	Published online: 17 Oct 2017.
Ø,	Submit your article to this journal 🗗
ılıl	Article views: 2
Q ^N	View related articles ☑

ACCC's ELECTION SCORECARD

The results of a membership vote for ACCC officers, trustees, and members of the nominating committee were announced at the recent House of Delegates meeting, held during ACCC's 25th Annual National Meeting.

President-elect (one-year term) David H. Regan, M.D.

Treasurer Edward L. Braud, M.D.

Trustees (two-year terms)
Edward C. Elliott, M.D.
(one-year term)
Patti A. Jamieson, M.S.S.W., M.B.A.
Carol Mastalerz, M.S.N., R.N.,
A.O.C.N., C.S.
Carol Norris, R.N., C.H.E.,
F.A.A.M.A.
Cary A. Presant, M.D., F.A.C.P.
John R. (Ron) Russell, M.D.

Members of the Nominating Committee for 1999-2000 Robert T. Clarke, M.H.A Albert B. Einstein, Jr., M.D. John E. Feldmann, M.D., F.A.C.P. David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P. James L. Wade III, M.D., F.A.C.P.

New Committee Chairs ACCC President Margaret A. Riley, M.N., R.N., C.N.A.A., announced the Committee chairs for 1999-2000.

Bylaws Greg Nelson, M.A., R.N.

Governmental Affairs Edward L. Braud, M.D.

Membership James C. Chingos, M.D.

Program Patti Jamieson, M.S.S.W., M.B.A.

Strategic Planning David H. Regan, M.D. Ad Hoc Committee for Advocacy James R. Zabora, M.S.W., Sc.D.

Ad Hoc Committee for Clinical Research Award Selection Robert L. (Larry) White, M.D., F.A.C.R.

Ad Hoc Committee for Reimbursement David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Ad Hoc Committee for Standards Susan J. Brown-Wagner, R.N., M.S.N., C.R.N.P., A.O.C.N.

Collaborative Research Group Steering Committee John E. Feldmann, M.D., F.A.C.P. Special Interest Group (SIG) chairs for 1999-2000 were also announced. Administrator: E. Strode Weaver, F.A.C.H.E., M.H.S.A., M.B.A.; Community Research/CCOP: Carl G. Kardinal, M.D., and Lawrence S. Lessin, M.D., co-chairs; Medical Director: Cary A. Presant, M.D., F.A.C.P.; Nursing: Diane M. Otte, R.N., M.N.; Radiation Oncology: Edward C. Elliott, M.D.

David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P., will continue to serve as ACCC's liaison representative to the American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer, and Robert W. Frelick, M.D., will serve as representative to the National Cancer Advisory Board.



Past presidents of ACCC were honored at a special celebration of the Association's 25th anniversary. Past presidents in attendance are: (seated, from left) Robert E. Enck, M.D., William M. Dugan, Jr., M.D., John W. Yarbro, M.D., Ph.D., Jennifer L. Guy, B.S., R.N., Herbert D. Kerman, M.D., Irvin D. Fleming, M.D., James L. Wade III, M.D., F.A.C.P. (standing, from left) John E. Feldmann, M.D., F.A.C.P., Albert B. Einstein, Jr., M.D., David K. King, M.D., F.A.C.P., Paul N. Anderson, M.D., Carl G. Kardinal, M.D., Robert T. Clarke, M.H.A., Charles D. Cobau, M.D., Lloyd K. Everson, M.D., and Robert W. Frelick, M.D.



ACCC Executive Director Lee E. Mortenson, D.P.A. (right), presents the Edward L. Moorhead Award to Jamie Young, former ACCC director for state societies and government relations (1991-1998), in recognition of his significant contributions to improving cancer treatment in the community. Young worked with state legislatures across the country to help enact new laws and administrative rules ensuring cancer patients access to "off-label" uses of drugs. The award is named after Edward L. Moorhead III, M.D., a pioneering ACCC leader who championed the involvement of community oncologists in clinical trials.

"The opportunity to work for ACCC and represent all of you across the country is an honor," Mr. Young told meeting attendees. "This award is for all of us, for all we have accomplished in such a short time. In 1991 two states had laws that addressed off-label drug coverage. It's now up to 31, an amazing success story!"

Anyone who has ever called the ACCC Executive Office in Rockville, Md., knows that it can feel a little like calling home, due to the cheering voice of ACCC Receptionist Carol Ann Mannix (pictured at right with David K. King, M.D., former ACCC president and current chair of ACCC's Ad Hoc Committee on Reimbursement). Since 1995 Carol Ann has served as ACCC's first point of contact, routing phone calls to staff, triaging fax and mail deliveries, placing publications orders, answering members' questions...and regularly going out of her way to keep the ACCC Board of Trustees and staff on their toes. Throughout, Carol Ann has supported us all with her tireless dedication to ACCC.

As of April, Carol Ann is moving on to enjoy the next phase of her life—a retirement that we expect will keep her even busier, with her four children and six grandchildren, volunteer activities, gardening, and good friends. All of us at ACCC wish to extend our sincere thanks to Carol Ann and best wishes for her new life filled with love, health, and happiness.

